De Montfort University

De Montfort University Leicester (DMU) is a public university in the city of Leicester, England. It was established in accordance with the Further and Higher Education Act in 1992 as a degree awarding body. The name De Montfort University was taken from Simon de Montfort, a 13th-century Earl of Leicester credited with establishing the first Parliament of England in 1265.

The university is organised into four faculties: Art, Design, and Humanities (ADH); Business and Law (BAL); Health and Life Sciences (H&LS); and Computing, Engineering and Media (CEM). It is a Sustainable Development Hub, focusing on Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions, an initiative by the United Nations launched in 2018.

In 2019, the first Times Higher Education (THE) University Impact Rankings, a global performance tables that assess universities against the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals, ranked De Montfort University 50th in the world. The UK Department of Education awarded university a Gold rating in the 2017 Teaching Excellence Framework. It is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

DMU achieved Gold--the highest possible standard--in the Teaching Excellence Framework. DMU prides itself on having passionate, enthusiastic lecturers that have excelled in the National Teaching Fellow awards, taking 22 in total since the scheme began.

The De Montfort University is a Public university located in Leicester.
The De Montfort University was founded in 1992.
The current president of De Montfort University is Andy Collop.
According to verified online sources, the De Montfort University enrolls a total of 23200 students.
According to the main website, the De Montfort University has a total student population of 19125 undergraduate students and 4075 graduate students.




Get Instant Information about the University

By clicking “Get Information Now,” I hereby authorize, their dependents, subcontractors, or associates to contact me in regards to education proposals offered by universities in the United Kingdom.

Location of De Montfort University

Locations of De Montfort University