Newcastle University

Newcastle University (formally the University of Newcastle upon Tyne) is a public research university in Newcastle upon Tyne in the North East of England. The university can trace its origins to a School of Medicine and Surgery (later the College of Medicine), established in 1834, and to the College of Physical Science (later renamed Armstrong College), founded in 1871. These two colleges came to form one division of the federal University of Durham, with the Durham Colleges forming the other. The Newcastle colleges merged to form King's College in 1937. In 1963, following an Act of Parliament, King's College became the University of Newcastle upon Tyne.

The University's Vision expresses its collective sense of purpose. They aspire to be a people-focused university that harnesses academic excellence, innovation and creativity to provide benefits to individuals, to organisations and to society as a whole.

Newcastle University exists for the public benefit to advance education, learning and research. Its objective is to build on this core purpose and, in doing so, provide new knowledge and creative solutions that make a positive impact. They aim to work collaboratively with their many external partners to shape brighter futures, grow the economy and champion social justice.

The Newcastle University is a Public university located in Newcastle Upon Tyne.
The Newcastle University was founded in 1834.
The current president of Newcastle University is Chris Day.
According to verified online sources, the Newcastle University enrolls a total of 28075 students.
According to the main website, the Newcastle University has a total student population of 21300 undergraduate students and 6775 graduate students.

Get Instant Information about the University

By clicking “Get Information Now,” I hereby authorize, their dependents, subcontractors, or associates to contact me in regards to education proposals offered by universities in the United Kingdom.

Location of Newcastle University